navigation-background arrow-down-circle Reply Icon Show More Heart Delete Icon wiki-circle wiki-square wiki arrow-up-circle add-circle add-square add arrow-down arrow-left arrow-right arrow-up calendar-circle chat-bubble-2 chat-bubble check-circle check close contact-us credit-card drag menu email embed facebook-circle facebook-square facebook faq-circle faq film gear google-circle google-square google history home instagram-circle instagram-square instagram linkedin-circle linkedin-square linkedin load monitor Video Player Play Icon person pinterest-circle pinterest-square pinterest play readlist remove-circle remove-square remove search share sign-out star trailer trash twitter-circle twitter-square twitter youtube-circle youtube-square youtube

2011 Rochester Rattlers

March 18, 2016
Major League Lacrosse Returns to Rochester

Coach:  B.J.O’Hara (seventh season, 40-32 career record, 2-3 playoff record)

2010 Season(Chicago Machine):  4 – 8 record, fifth in MLL

Rattlers Overview

Major League Lacrosse returns to Rochester for the first time since 2008, when the Rattlers won the franchise’s only MLL Championship. On November 23, 2010 the Adirondack Sports Group announced that the Chicago Machine agreed to move their operations to Rochester for the 2011 MLL season.  Four players from the 2008 team return to the roster in 2011:  Casey Powell (A), Kyle Guadagnolo (D), Joe Smith (D), and Andrew Spack (M). 

Key Returnees

Attacker Ned Crotty returns to the team after a monumental 2010 season in which he: won the Tewaaraton Trophy as the most outstanding player in college lacrosse, won a national championship with the Duke Blue Devils, was the number one selection in the MLL Draft, and won the MLL Rookie of the Year award.

Midfielder Matt Striebel is also coming over to the Rattlers after having spent 2010 with the Chicago Machine.  Striebel has won three MLL Championships and an MLL Championship Game MVP award in his ten year professional career.  He is a two-time World Lacrosse Championship gold medalist with Team USA. 

Defender Kyle Guadagnolo is one of four players from the Rattlers 2008 MLL Championship team rejoining Rochester in 2011.  Guadagnolo scooped 20 ground balls for the Chicago Machine last season.    

Key Additions

Attacker Casey Powell returns to Rochester after playing with the Rattlers from 2003-2008, and ultimately leading the team to the 2008 MLL Championship in his final season with the team.  He enters the 2011 season as the all-time MLL leader in points and assists.  Powell was a four-time All-American and a two-time national player of the year with the Syracuse University Orange. 

Syracuse University will also be contributing three rookies to the Rattlers after their NCAA tournament run is completed this spring. Midfielder Joel White, goalie John Galloway, and midfielder Jovon Miller were all Rattlers picks in this year’s MLL Draft.  White is a two-time All-American with the Orange.  He became the first defensive specialist to win the Lt. Douglas C. MacLaughlin Jr. Award as the nation’s most outstanding midfielder last year as a junior.  He was a 2011 Inside Lacrosse Pre-Season First Team All-American selection this spring.  Last season John Galloway became the first Syracuse goalie to win the Ensign C. Markland Kelly Jr. Award as the nation’s most outstanding goalie.  He is the only starting goalie in the history of NCAA lacrosse to win a national championship as a freshman and a sophomore.  Miller was a third team All-American last spring and was named a Pre-Season Second Team All-American by Inside Lacrosse in 2011.  This Orange trio has already won two national championships and will be looking to add a third title to their collection this spring.

The Rochester Rattlers acquired the rights to Webster native Grant Catalino (A) in a trade with the Denver Outlaws in late April.  He is currently a senior at the University of Maryland.  The two-time All-American has already recorded 112 goals and 61 assists in his career with the Terps.  The Rattlers plan to add Catalino to the roster after his final NCAA tournament run with Maryland. 

Key Departures

Attacker Kevin Leveille led the Chicago Machine with 24 goals last season.  He was also second on the team with 33 points.  He has moved on to play with Hamilton this year. 

The team’s leading scorer, attacker Mike Leveille, scored 22 goals and adding 14 assists in 2010 and will not return.  His goal and assist totals both ranked fifth in MLL last season. 

Defender DJ Driscoll and midfielder Chris Rotelli also will not be returning to the team in 2011.

Season Outlook

The Rattlers won the 2008 Major League Lacrosse championship in their final year in Rochester.  The Chicago Machine finished 4-8 last season and missed out on the MLL Playoffs.  Coach BJ O’Hara is looking to merge talented holdovers Ned Crotty, Matt Striebel, Kyle Guadagnolo with Rattlers legend Casey Powell, and rookies Galloway, White, Miller, and Catalino.  If he is successful, then the Rattlers should be back in the playoffs in 2011.

Media Coverage

The Rochester Rattlers travel to Chesapeake to open the 2011 Major League Lacrosse season against the defending MLL champion Bayhawks at 7PM on Saturday, May 14 th, 2011.  The Rochester Rattlers open their home schedule on Saturday, May 21 st, 2011 against the Long Island Lizards.  Tickets are available at or by calling the Sahlen’s Stadium ticket office at 585.454.5425.


The game can be seen live on Time Warner Cable Sports Channel 26 in the Rochester television market.


 Viewers outside the Rochester market can catch Major League Lacrosse action all season long on  On Saturday May 14 thESPN3 will be carrying the Rochester Rattlers game against the Chesapeake Bayhawks live from the Navy Marine Corps Stadium in Annapolis, MD at 7PM.

Rochester lacrosse fans can also catch a glimpse of Rattlers draftee and Rochester native Grant Catalino with the Maryland Terrapins in their first round match up against the University of North Carolina at 1PM Sunday, May 15 thon ESPN3. 


HerbFM Radio ( is broadcasting a full day of coverage for the Rochester Rattlers – Chesapeake Bayhawks game on Saturday, May 14 th.  HerbFM will be broadcasting a pre-game show live from Navy Marine Corps Stadium in Annapolis, Maryland from 1PM to 5PM featuring Rattlers coach BJ O’Hara.  The game will be broadcast live at 7PM and a full post game show will follow the broadcast.