Future Rattlers Wolf & Thompson vie for lacrosse top honor

5/29/14 3:00 PM

Future Rattlers Wolf & Thompson vie for lacrosse top honor

Washington, D.C (May 29, 2014)  Tonight we finally find out who the 2014 Tewaaraton Award will be awarded to as the Most Outstanding Player (mens and womens) in college lacrosse.  The Rochester Rattlers can be proud that 2 of the 5 finalists are from their own 2014 MLL Collegiate Draft.  As the NCAA lacrosse season has come to a close, the 14thAnnual Tewaaraton Awards Ceremony will be held in the Nation’s capital tonight at 8pm.

Attackmen Jordan Wolf (2ndoverall pick) is a two time Division 1 National Champion with the Duke Blue Devils.  “The Big Bad Wolf” finalized his college lacrosse career with a total of 184 goals and 120 assists with a 3.2 goals per game average (second place in Division 1).  2014 also witnessed Wolf end his career on a high note while winning the National Championship he was named the games’ Most Outstanding Player.  During the 2014 season Jordan had 64 goals, 39 assists for 103 points.  He was a first team All-American, ACC offensive player of the year, and a first team All-ACC (fourth consecutive season).  Wolf finished his career with 304 points, tied for the eighth most in Division I history. Wolf became the second ACC player to reach the 300-point plateau (joining current Duke assistant and former Blue Devils star Matt Danowski) and the first player in ACC history to produce a 100-point season.

University of Albany Attackmen Miles Thompson (R3, 30thoverall pick) has helped captivate the imagination and interest of the lacrosse world along with his cousin Ty (also a Rattler draftee) and brother Lyle (also a T.A. finalist).  He finished the season with 82 goals, 37 assists and 119 points. Miles is a first team All-American, first team All-America East (second consecutive season), America East tournament MVP and tied the single-season NCAA goals record set by Yale's Jon Reese with his 82-goal effort as a junior.

The Rattlers are proud to say that both will be in the Flower City wearing the black and gold in the near future, after they compete tonight for Lacrosse’s top honor. To find out more about the 14thAnnual Tewaaraton Awards Ceremony logo onto

Rochester is back in action against the league’s newest member The Florida Launch this Sunday, June 1st@ 1pm from Sahlens Stadium in Downtown Rochester.

For more information on tickets or the Rochester Rattlers, please log onto or call the main office at (585) 340-6905.  Follow the team on facebook or twitter @RattlersLax.

04/23 5:00PM EST @ Lizards Buy Tickets More Info
04/30 7:30PM EST @ Hounds Buy Tickets More Info
05/14 7:00PM EST @ Cannons Buy Tickets More Info
05/28 6:00PM EST vs Bayhawks More Info
06/02 7:30PM EST vs Machine More Info
06/11 7:30PM EST @ Bayhawks More Info
06/18 9:30PM EST @ Outlaws More Info
06/25 5:00PM EST @ Machine Buy Tickets More Info
07/02 5:00PM EST vs Cannons More Info
07/16 4:30PM EST vs Hounds More Info
07/23 5:00PM EST vs Lizards More Info
07/28 7:30PM EST vs Outlaws More Info
07/30 7:30PM EST @ Launch Buy Tickets More Info
08/04 7:30PM EST vs Blaze More Info
Sign up to receive the latest MLL news and information.